Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-15-2005, 01:56 PM

Default I\'m tommo and I\'m a poker addict

Alright, so I figured I had to admit it somewhere and this is as good a place as any. I'm a poker addict. Sometimes I want to stop playing and I can't, I always come back.

I go to a very good university and have always done extremely well grade wise (3.8 gpa) up until I started playing poker. I still do pretty well, averaging a 3.4 (since I started playing poker) but thats a noticeable decline in my grades. I used to be incredibly social and now I don't see my friends nearly as often as I used to.

I'm a fairly smart guy and have always thought I'd like to start a company or something after college but I'm not sure I'll be able to do that with this poker addiction.

I play the 200nl-1000nl tables depending on time (I look for fish at all levels) and I average about $32-$4k a week. I've played over 100,000 hands like this and am fairly confident I can keep up this win rate. The question I have for you guys is

when do I quit?

I guess its really just a question of what I really want in life but I'm not really sure what that is. As it is, I make more money than most the adults I know but I've lost the motivation and determination that I was once so proud of. Its not uncommon for me to spend 8 hours playing poker in a day just to feel sick and unfulfilled at the end of it. I just have no idea what I can do with my life after college. I'm a math and physics major but I've hated all the tedious internships I've ever had . Does anybody hire poker players?