Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-15-2005, 07:52 PM

Default Is SSH the best book for the micros???

Alright, I'm pretty new to this, but I have a question. I have always assumed that SSH is the Bible of the micros, but being a newbie I have very recently started playing at PS .10/.20 with Poker Tracker and Poker Aces HUD turned on. The stats I've seen from the tables have really surprised me.
First these games are not as loose as the loose games preflop guidelines in SSH require. Most games I've been in have been between 3 and 5 to the flop on average and it seems very unusual to see 7 or more players to the flop listed for any game when I look at the stats in the lobby. Just based on this it seems that the games are toward the tight end of what SSH is discussing.
In the games I tend to find a fairly even mix: about 1/2 rocks, fish, and calling stations but also about 1/2 TAG, TPA, SlLPA etc.
I'm wondering if these are really the games SSH was designed for or does becoming more familiar with HEPFAP even at these low limits make sense.
What do you think??
Old 11-15-2005, 08:13 PM

Default Re: Is SSH the best book for the micros???

This has been discussed extensively before. Yes, SSH is still best. Rocks still suck post flop. However, HPFAP has some great material that applies at all levels, so read it too. Learn which is which. SSH's preflop chart is far from eveything, and if you're good postflop, you can play looser against bad players, even tight ones.
Old 11-15-2005, 08:25 PM

I think Ed wrote book while playing live small stakes games. These are much looser than the average online game you will find today. His advice is still top notch. Luckily, when he suggests plays that you should only make when 7 players see the flop, he mentiones that you should only do it if 7 players see the flop.