Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Mid- and High-Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-02-2003, 01:35 PM

Default How would you play this hand?

I haven't posted a hand in a while so I thought I'd bring this one up for discussion. I'm new to the table and just posted my BB. From what I've seen it seems to be a very loose table that's moderately aggressive. I only know of one player that's decent, but he's not in this hand.

There's an UTG raise and 2 MP cold callers. The SB calls and I call in the BB with A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 6[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].

FLOP: 6[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 3[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 9[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]

SB checks. Would you bet or check?

I bet. Comments?

~stephen
Old 10-02-2003, 03:58 PM

Default Re: How would you play this hand?

there is a diamond draw out there. You have an UTG raiser and 2 players calling 2 cold preflop.

There is no way your bet is going to win you the hand right away, and your hand is horribly vulnerable. You can easily be raised.

I don't like the bet.

-Scott
Old 10-02-2003, 04:17 PM

Personally, I check here and I know its passive but 1.) The UTG raised before flop so he should have something. He's in an ideal check raise spot with 3 to play. Let the MP's bet (they probably would have called me anyway) and see how SB responds. 2.)I am in EP. 3.) When I am at a loose table I wait to bet hands I know are ahead because people pay you for them.
Old 10-02-2003, 04:38 PM

But he's betting precisely because he wants to be raised by the UTG. I don't see this as a semi-bluff at all; it's a value bet hoping for help in narrowing the field.
Old 10-02-2003, 09:27 PM

Good bet. Im assumming yuo are wanting UTG to raise and thin the field for yuo.
Old 10-03-2003, 12:11 PM