Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:29 PM
Rhone Rhone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 177
Default was this handled correctly?

Interesting situation, 5/10 at the Taj the other night. 3 players on the river, first to act bets, second player folds and flings his hand into the muck. Except one of his cards shoots right into the first player's hand, literally--the guy is now holding three cards, and no one can tell which one came from the 2nd player. Everyone freezes for a second. Player 2 (who folded) is in the 8 seat, and whispers his hand to the 9 seat (not in the hand), who whispers it to the dealer. The dealer is a pretty timid woman who doesn't seem to know what to do. 9 seat reaches over and takes the top card from the bettor and shows it to player 2 and the dealer. Nope, that wasn't my card, says player 2. So that card goes back to player one and they try again with another card. Player 2 agrees that the second card they just showed him was indeed his, and the dealer puts it in the muck, and play continues.

Everyone else, including the guy left to act in seat 2, was pretty much dumbfounded during this whole thing. Was it handled right?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:32 PM
mostsmooth mostsmooth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: AC
Posts: 153
Default Re: was this handled correctly?

im pretty sure the hand should be dead.
somebody smarter than me will have to confirm this
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:49 PM
Rhone Rhone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 177
Default Re: was this handled correctly?

[ QUOTE ]
im pretty sure the hand should be dead.
somebody smarter than me will have to confirm this

[/ QUOTE ]

Wow. It was a pretty big pot. Someone would not have been happy with a decision to kill the hand.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2005, 03:32 AM
highlife highlife is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 294
Default Re: was this handled correctly?

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
im pretty sure the hand should be dead.
somebody smarter than me will have to confirm this

[/ QUOTE ]

Wow. It was a pretty big pot. Someone would not have been happy with a decision to kill the hand.

[/ QUOTE ]

yeah but there is always at least one person who isnt happy after almost any floor decision needs to be made.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2005, 07:00 PM
sirpupnyc sirpupnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 65
Default Re: was this handled correctly?

[ QUOTE ]
im pretty sure the hand should be dead.
somebody smarter than me will have to confirm this

[/ QUOTE ]

Possibly. As the rest of the story demonstrated, there's a way to correct the fouling of the hand, and there hasn't been any action (like the big blind getting three cards and not noticing until his turn to act, at which point his hand is nothing but dead).

For sure this is one of those cases where nobody should move a muscle except to yell "FLOOR!" What happened is probably right (since everybody did at least have the sense to stop), but it really shouldn't be another player handling it.

Some will say the guy should have protected his hand better, but they're mostly the sort who'd say the same if an asteroid crashed through the roof of the cardroom onto their cards. "Oh, well, gotta protect your hand...never know when an asteroid's comin'..."

(OK, earlier it was the grumpy pills...I dunno what I'm on now. Too much tea and wanting to go home, maybe.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2005, 07:24 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: was this handled correctly?

[ QUOTE ]


Some will say the guy should have protected his hand better, but they're mostly the sort who'd say the same if an asteroid crashed through the roof of the cardroom onto their cards. "Oh, well, gotta protect your hand...never know when an asteroid's comin'..."


[/ QUOTE ]

Reasonable effort. Every reasonable effort should be taken. I don't need a gold ingot on my cards. I DO need a gold ingot, though!

I like the way it was handled. While I don't trust anyone 100%, it was done honorably. The guy told someone what he had, and they pulled the card. The player who received the unexpected "gift" did try to improve his hand, since he didn't give up the correct card on the first try. (Caught that?).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2005, 07:58 PM
NotMitch NotMitch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: AKA JoeRey
Posts: 248
Default Re: was this handled correctly?

[ QUOTE ]
im pretty sure the hand should be dead.
somebody smarter than me will have to confirm this

[/ QUOTE ]

From what I understand ff the hand was protected (with a chip or something) I dont think it would be dead, if it wasnt it would. But I could be way off.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:30 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: was this handled correctly?

This sorta thing happened to me while playing at the MGM earlier this week.

Seat 1 is UTG and calls the BB (he put his chips over the little yellow line). Seat 2 is ordering a drink and pushes her cards into Seat 1's hand. The dealer rules both hands dead and tells Seat 1 that his money has to stay. He did tell him that if he had protected his hand with something, like a chip, his hand wouldn't have been dead as it was obvious who's cards were whos.

Seat 1 was pretty pissed and I told seat 2, my wife, to give the guy $2 as a "I'm sorry". It was her first time playing so she didn't realize what she had done and the guy in Seat 1 was a total moron so I figured it was in our best interest to keep him happy. The $2 sorry was good enough to get him to stick around and buy in again. Yay.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:46 AM
chesspain chesspain is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 1,930
Default Re: was this handled correctly?

[ QUOTE ]
This sorta thing happened to me while playing at the MGM earlier this week.

Seat 1 is UTG and calls the BB (he put his chips over the little yellow line). Seat 2 is ordering a drink and pushes her cards into Seat 1's hand. The dealer rules both hands dead and tells Seat 1 that his money has to stay. He did tell him that if he had protected his hand with something, like a chip, his hand wouldn't have been dead as it was obvious who's cards were whos.

Seat 1 was pretty pissed and I told seat 2, my wife, to give the guy $2 as a "I'm sorry". It was her first time playing so she didn't realize what she had done and the guy in Seat 1 was a total moron so I figured it was in our best interest to keep him happy. The $2 sorry was good enough to get him to stick around and buy in again. Yay.

[/ QUOTE ]

Whether or not your wife gives Seat 2 the $2 should not depend upon your opinion of him. She should give him the $2 because it was completely her own bonehead mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-30-2005, 03:05 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: was this handled correctly?

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
This sorta thing happened to me while playing at the MGM earlier this week.

Seat 1 is UTG and calls the BB (he put his chips over the little yellow line). Seat 2 is ordering a drink and pushes her cards into Seat 1's hand. The dealer rules both hands dead and tells Seat 1 that his money has to stay. He did tell him that if he had protected his hand with something, like a chip, his hand wouldn't have been dead as it was obvious who's cards were whos.

Seat 1 was pretty pissed and I told seat 2, my wife, to give the guy $2 as a "I'm sorry". It was her first time playing so she didn't realize what she had done and the guy in Seat 1 was a total moron so I figured it was in our best interest to keep him happy. The $2 sorry was good enough to get him to stick around and buy in again. Yay.

[/ QUOTE ]

Whether or not your wife gives Seat 2 the $2 should not depend upon your opinion of him. She should give him the $2 because it was completely her own bonehead mistake.

[/ QUOTE ]

Oh I agree, but he refused up and down to take the $2. I think he was embarrassed that he didn't have his cards protected and felt like a newb.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.