Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Stud

Old 12-20-2002, 06:04 PM

Default New to the Game

I'm new to 7 stud, I mean I knew how to play before now but I just started playing online. I'm up quite a bit in a few sessions, playing $2/4 up maybe $100 or so. Anyway, I'm playing right now and I've lost with what I thought were some good hands:
Trip 9s loses to trip Js, very next hand high 2 pair loses to trip Js again, couple hands later I have a straight after 5 raise and bet out the entire way until someone catches a straight one higher on the 7th (amazingly, I had 2345678), lost with high trips to a boat, all this in a session of an hour tops and I'm down $35 during the session (only one big win really with an Ace-high straight).

Are these typical winning hads in a 6-8 handed game? Previous to this session I saw a ton of two-pair winners, etc., and it's not like I'm facing extremely good board cards or anything they've just had the hole cards to beat me. Are there any good sites on 7 stud strategy? So far I call the deal if I have 3 face cards, 3 suited, a decent pair, or 3 connected, are these decent start hands? Thanks.
Old 12-20-2002, 07:06 PM

Default Re: New to the Game

Unless you have a rock-crusher like aces full, your good hands never have that much edge in stud. This is especially true in multiway pots where your opponents' combined "outs" can make you a big underdog to the field when you have a big pair or two small pair.

Expect swings to be big in stud. If you are playing on limited funds, you might want to drop down to the microlimits. Results of of +$100 or -$35 are actually small for a 2/4 session.

Lin
Old 12-21-2002, 12:59 AM