Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-09-2004, 05:06 PM

Default How often will quads over quads happen?

I've played about 500,000 hands in the last year, and maybe close to a million hands online since I started playing poker, and I haven't seen quads over quads yet. In fact I've never seen a hand that would qualify for a bad beat jackpot where Aces full loses.

I've seen straight flushes lose (1 card flush though), and I've had 6 or 7 Royal flushes in that time, but I've yet to see quads lose. I wonder if the expectation is more often than once in a million hands.
Old 08-09-2004, 05:27 PM

Default Re: How often will quads over quads happen?

I don't know, David, but I can add my big hands here from almost a year of online play: I've beaten Aces full twice, once with a St. Flush and once with quads. I've had my aces full beaten once, by quad deuces. That's it. I do remember making quad nines in a game a few years ago and losing to a srtraight flush, but these instances certainly do seem rare.

Dogmeat [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]
Old 08-09-2004, 06:57 PM

There's about an order of magnitude difference in the probability of quads over quads, and a royal flush. Once you've seen about 10 royals you should see quads over quads [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

I've seen a flopped set over set over set. I think that's my rarest moment.
Old 08-09-2004, 07:06 PM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

That must have been a massive pot.
Old 08-09-2004, 07:08 PM

Yah, I was in one of those too. First day I moved up to 3/6, and I was the sucker with the middle set. Flop was AT7, (One guy had AA, I had TT, and another 77) and I think the only straight that was possible in the end was the wheel, and no flush possibility as well.