Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-10-2004, 09:54 PM

Default Did I play this the right way?

I'm still kind of new to poker. Can you guy's look at this hand and tell me if I should have played it differently.

Thanks in advance,
-Steve

Party Poker 5/10 Hold'em (10 handed)

Preflop: Hero is BB with J[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]. CO posts a blind of $5.
UTG calls, UTG+1 calls, UTG+2 folds, MP1 folds, MP2 folds, MP3 folds, CO (poster) checks, Button folds, SB completes, Hero checks.

Flop: (5 SB) 6[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], J[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] <font color="blue">(5 players)</font>
SB checks, Hero checks, UTG checks, UTG+1 bets, CO folds, SB raises, Hero calls, UTG calls, UTG+1 3-bets, SB caps, Hero calls, UTG calls, UTG+1 calls.

Turn: (10.50 BB) 3[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="blue">(4 players)</font>
SB bets, Hero calls, UTG calls, UTG+1 calls.

River: (14.50 BB) 7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="blue">(4 players)</font>
SB bets, Hero raises, UTG folds, UTG+1 folds, SB 3-bets, Hero caps, SB calls.

Final Pot: 22.50 BB

Results in white below: <font color="white">
SB shows 6h 6s (three of a kind, sixes).
Hero shows Jh Js (three of a kind, jacks).
Outcome: Hero wins 22.50 BB. </font>
Old 06-10-2004, 11:09 PM

Default Re: Did I play this the right way?

I think you should have raised pre-flop.
I like the smooth 2-bet call on the flop, although, after the 3-bet I would have capped....all who weren't going to play would have folded by now anyway.

Spyder
Old 06-10-2004, 11:49 PM

Thanks for the comments. I re-posted this on the small stakes board.
Old 06-11-2004, 11:30 AM