Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-16-2004, 04:10 PM

Default Help! Experienced limit holdem player wants to learn no-limit!

I've been playing limit holdem for a couple years now, but I've decided to pick up no-limit holdem after watching the World Poker Tour on TV. I'm pretty jazzed about no-limit so far.

But, I'm having some growing pains in adapting to the new game and am looking to learn the fundamentals of no-limit. I own Sklansky's books: HPFAP, TOP, as well as several standard books on limit holdem by other authors. So, I understand implied odds, position, bluffing, etc. etc... But, the all-in feature of no-limit is the main problem for me. When to go all-in?

I've been playing in some freeroll multi's to cut my teeth during the past couple of days, but I keep feeling like I am missing opportunities, as well as making mistakes that seem obvious only after the hand is played out. Here's a typical example that busted me this morning:

I played it badly. I limped in with 10, 7 suited in the small blind with 2 other limpers plus the BB. the flop was 10, 7, 4 with two cards the same suit. I shoulda went all-in right there, pushing any draws out, or making them call badly. But, I bet 2.5 bets (25% of my stack) thinking that would be enough to push anyone out, maybe hoping they would call and pay me off. Well, the flop came J nonflush. Well, now I go all-in. Stupid. Guy with a bigger stack calls me with 8,9. Busted.

Is there a FAQ or something that could at least give me some basic ideas? I am really eager to get any advice right now, because I have more questions than answers.

Here are my main questions, if anyone wants to take a whack.