Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-10-2004, 02:49 PM

Default Rake Instead of Blind Increase in Tournaments

I thought up with the idea the other day to structure a tournament with a rake instead of increasing blinds. I'm fairly new to poker so I realize this might not be a new idea. If it hasn't been tried, does anyone have any thoughts as to why it would be an especially bad idea? Such a structure could incorporate an increasing blind as well, but of course it would happen much more slowly. Thanks for the feedback.
Old 09-10-2004, 03:28 PM

Default Re: Rake Instead of Blind Increase in Tournaments

Uh, what would that accomplish?
Old 09-10-2004, 03:31 PM

Uh, reducing the number of chip in play would serve the same purpose as increasing blinds. Do you see how?
Old 09-10-2004, 03:39 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Uh, reducing the number of chip in play would serve the same purpose as increasing blinds. Do you see how?

[/ QUOTE ]

The main event of the WSOP would take months if not years that way.
Unless of course the rake was like 50% or so. Then, I would never play a hand other than AA and get blinded down.
Old 09-10-2004, 03:40 PM

The blinds are there to force action and to keep people from just sitting around all day waiting for pocket aces, especially short stack. A rake would do the exact opposite.
Old 09-10-2004, 03:47 PM