Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-26-2005, 07:05 PM

Default Table Selection

I am a relative SH newbie, and I have a few questions about table selection. I know the purpose is to find fishy (LP/P)tables, but how do you go about this? Do you use Pokertracker, or just the stats given by the site for the table? (Avg pot/ players to flop)

Thanks for the help. I play on stars, if that makes a difference.
Old 11-26-2005, 07:09 PM

Default Re: Table Selection

Unless you are playing at a smaller site or really high limits where there arent many table options, scouting out tables is IMO a giant waste of time. The tables change so fast that by the time you've picked out a "winner" it completely changes after sitting at it for 5 minutes, or even by the time you get to sit at it.

At a place like party, I just look at the lobby window and pick the table with the highest avg pot size that I can sit at, and then sit there. If I find the table sucks then I leave and go to another one. If Im at a table and it starts to suck, then I leave.
Old 11-26-2005, 07:37 PM

I think seat selection is pretty key. If I'm sitting to the right of a TAG, I'll generally get up and leave. Same goes for having a total wacko on my left. Of course if the table is totally sweet otherwise, I'll stay.
Old 11-26-2005, 08:39 PM

What levels are you playing? I think as you go lower and lower, the less important table selection is.

But I'll tell you one approach that I think is key, and which unfortunately no one stressed to me when I started six-max: do not hesitate to get up and find a different table if the situation does not seem right, i.e., if your position is bad, the combination of players seems wrong for you and/or you happen to be losing a lot at that table. I believe I would have avoided some very bad sessions had I stuck to this approach.