Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-19-2004, 06:24 PM

Default beginner\'s help

I also posted this on the 'poker theory' forum, but since I play small stakes and you all seen to be knowledgeable and helpful, I thought I'd seek advice here as well. Read on!

I've been playing online since March of this year, and I'm beginning to learn the intricacies of the game, but I can't seem to get up. I'm down a significant bit since I started playing, and I would like to start keeping statistics to try and analyze how I'm playing and hopefully begin to start playing better. The two questions I have are:
1. How do I keep stats?, and
2. What do they mean?

I would also like to be able to post hands on this forum to elicit adivice, but I also don't know how to do that either.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 09-19-2004, 06:25 PM

Default Re: beginner\'s help

Try wwww.pokertracker.com
Old 09-19-2004, 06:26 PM

Location: duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem (mets are 9-13, currently on a 1 game winning streak)

- www.pokertracker.com
- use Excel to keep track of your sessions
Old 09-19-2004, 06:27 PM

thanks guys. As I've seen, I should wait until I get until about 10,000 hands to really begin to see how I'm doing?
Old 09-19-2004, 06:31 PM

Location: duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem (mets are 9-13, currently on a 1 game winning streak)

after like 300 or 500 hands you can see how you play preflop. it'll take a lot of hands to get a good idea of whether you're a winning player.
Old 09-19-2004, 06:34 PM

What games are youplaying online?
Old 09-19-2004, 06:41 PM