Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-20-2005, 10:07 PM

Default The dreaded ace showed up on the turn

Was check and fold a weak play? .. should i have bet out and folded to a raise .. what if I was called - do I check/call river or check/fold?

btw the player seemed pretty solid so I didn't think I could have the best hand when two overcards came - but after the hand I realized he might have had two tens, and I suspect though I'm new to limit, I should have bet the turn and then decided, rather than check out of positon.

PokerStars 1/2 Hold'em (7 handed) converter

Preflop: Hero is SB with Q[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">3 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">CO raises</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero 3-bets</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, CO calls.

Flop: (7 SB) K[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 9[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 2[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, CO calls.

Turn: (4.50 BB) A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
Hero checks, <font color="#CC3333">CO bets</font>, Hero folds.

Final Pot: 5.50 BB
Old 12-20-2005, 10:24 PM

Default Re: The dreaded ace showed up on the turn

Poopy -

License to bluff you gave

Bet/fold to a raise better than check/fold.

Sarge[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]
Old 12-20-2005, 10:56 PM

bet/fold the freaking turn, you are ahead of alot of open raise/call hands and just gave them a chance to bluff you out.
Old 12-21-2005, 08:20 AM