Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-30-2005, 11:36 AM

Default What Everyone Needs after a 72 BB Downswing

Just a little background about myself....I started playing online in late July so it's been almost exactly 6 months ago that I started playing. To date I've been extremely lucky and haven't had any huge downswings like 200BB like alot of 2+2ers have been unfortunate to have (I know my time is coming [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] )

About 2-3 weeks ago I was working off the $200 Empire bonus and I had my worst downswing of 72bb (I know alot wouldn't even call this a downswing) but for me it put a little dent into my confidence.

I do know that over those hands I was sucked out on by 2-4 outters on the river 2-3 times more than normal. I knew I was playing the hands correctly but just having some bad luck.

Anyhow, the last day of clearing the Empire bonus I did have a small win of about 25BB which got a little bit of my confidence back. I've then been busy with work and haven't had a chance to play until Saturday (haven't played in about 2 weeks prior to this). I had 2400 raked hands at Party to play by Wednesday night to receive $300 in bonues. I had family coming to visit on Monday so I knew I better get in a ton of hands on Saturday so I sat down at 3pm and 3 tabled f$0.50/$1 for a little over 9 hours.

Being that I hadn't played in about 2 weeks and that I recently had that 72BB downswing I really needed a good run to boost my confidence. Let's just say that I had the best run of cards I've ever seen in the 6 months I've been playing. Even though this 1 day run was only about 1500 hands I needed it. I know the sample size is too small and nothing can be drawn from the stats but I'll take the final results any day of the week.