Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-01-2004, 06:20 AM

Default waiting for big edge

With all you blokes at the Party, maybe I should stick to Paradise.

I called the flop thinking I should wait for a blank and then raise the turn with a big edge. It all worked perfectly and felt good but is it better than raising the flop.

Paradise 3/6 5 players

CO open limps, I raise with JTo, SB BB and CO call.

Flop JT9r

SB bets, BB calls, CO calls, I call

Turn is a blank.

SB Bets, BB calls, CO Calls, I raise

Thanks

chez
Old 12-04-2004, 07:01 AM

Default Re: waiting for big edge

I am new to HUSH and my opinion could be a little too conservative: I'd limp not raise with JTo after one limper in shorthanded game. Raising turn is good because you have strong hand/position until no 4th straight card came and don't want to scare them on flop. Someone's 3-betting will probably indicate pair+straight draw or even made set/straight but calling to showdown will stay in order.
Old 12-04-2004, 07:24 AM

I fold this preflop

You have 2 people trapped on the flop so I think it is best to raise. You dont want KsQs8s and 7s getting a cheap turn card.

Bumping the pot will also allow you to see a showdown/chase your boat if a scare card comes.
Old 12-04-2004, 09:56 AM

I like preflop. I like flop and turn.

I'm not sure exactly how to evaluate the EV of raising flop vs. waiting, but the only downside to waiting I can think of is that a scary card like the K might come and cause you to miss a turn raise when you are still ahead, but that won't happen very often and you may still be able to get a raise in depending on the action. As far as upsides, you get to charge a double bet--that's the big one--and you get to save 1.5 BB's when it's bet and raised in front of you after a bad card hits the turn.

So, well played from what I can tell.