Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-10-2005, 01:20 PM

Default Help me drop out of school (resume, job search question)

After writing this, I realize it's fairly long, so consider yourself warned if you don't like reading. In summary, I'm seeking advice on a job search after a period of playing poker full time.

Some background: I graduated in May 2004 with a BS in electrical engineering from the University of Texas. At graduation I looked for a job for a few months. In September, I still hadn't found anything so I sent in an application to UT's law school. During undergrad I had considered some sort of graduate education, but I wanted to work a few years first and get a better idea of what I wanted to do.

During my period of unemployment I had been moving up in limits online and was soon making enough money to live off. I was accepted to the law school fairly quickly and stopped looking for a job because I was relieved to finally have something definitely in place. So now I'm in my second month of law school, and I've quickly realized that this is not what I want to do. I don't want to be a lawyer, and I don't want to waste three years doing something I'm not interested in and won't use. I don't want to be a full time poker player either.

What I really want to do now is get a job like I was planning to before. I doubt I will be returning to school any time in the near (5 years) future, or law school ever. I found a copy of my resume on my laptop and I'm revising it and getting it up to date. I have some questions about this:

1. Should I include my short stint (not even one complete semester yet) in law school under the education section, or would it be better to just leave it off?