Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em

Old 01-05-2005, 03:07 PM

Default How far have you moved up at no-limit ring games?

I want to know how far you have moved up (online or B&M) in
your no-limit poker playing... Basicly I'm trying to find out how long it
will take me to go from winning at free ring games to the 2/4 nl ring
game... I realize many try and jump ahead of their bankroll at times, but
I would guess 90% of those who do get shot back down... As far as my
progress goes: I started playing free games in August of 2003 and through
many ups and downs I have made it to the .25/.50 nl (I got up to .50/1
briefly)... The unique part for me is I haven't risked any of my own
money... My goal from day one (having gambled and lost in my teens and
20's) was to not gamble at texas hold-em poker, but grind it out... It
took me 3 months to finally win real money in a freeroll (I rarely play
tournaments since. About two a month) and it took me 7 months to build a $250 bankroll playing .01/.02... Since last May I have not had a losing
month and have banked a few grand... I know many would have used that
money to move up but I didn't feel I was playing well enough to move up
too quickly... You could say that I am very conservative with my progress.
At this point I plan to be at the .50/1 nl by this summer. I play about 35
table hours a week.... So, anyone else move up from the free games with
little or no investment???
Old 01-05-2005, 03:30 PM

Default Re: How far have you moved up at no-limit ring games?

I'm in college, and I pay for everything but car insurance and tuition, so basically I'm a "pro".

I played for money in NL SNGs from January-June. I then had a lot of expenses and wasn't doing very good so I got a job at the San Diego County Fair for 3 weeks and made like $1800. I then deposited $150 and started playing $25nl 6-max