Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology

Old 12-29-2005, 04:56 AM

Default I forgot how to play poker.

I've been on quite a downswing lately. That's not the problem though. I've been playing poker for two years, and making a living at it for the last 6-8 months. I've had plenty of downswings, and they've never bothered me mentally until now.

It's not that I'm frustrated about bad beats or losing money. It's that I don't know if I'm playing well. I click the buttons on autopilot without really knowing if it was the right way to play the hand.

I just went to the SSLH forum and read the first page of hand posts. I honestly had no idea what I would have or should have done in any of the hands posted. Usually, I can reply being fairly confident about what the correct play would be, and most people agree with me.

I still want to play poker every day, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to lose every session. I don't know what to do. Take a break? Move down in limits? I kinda feel like pulling a Dave Chappelle and running away and checking into a mental institution.
Old 12-29-2005, 06:16 AM

Default Re: I forgot how to play poker.

Move down in limits....always the safest way....if you are indeed playing poorly you will lose money at a much slower rate. If you're just on a downswing, it'll be easier to start booking some wins (albeit less than usual) since lower limits generally = less sophisticated players. Either way you will likely start making money again at the lower limit and rebuild much needed confidence.