Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-16-2005, 03:11 PM

Default Playing on the Internet..Questions..(LONG)

Sup guys..unlike 90% of this forum, I don't play online. All my hands and experiences, etc, are from live play with friends. We usually played .10/.25 or .25/.50, with $20 or $50 buy-ins.

One of the reasons I was never able to play online, is quite simply, my parents wouldn't let me. Strange logic, letting your kid play all the time with friends, but not online. I was a senior when I started playing more frequently, and am now in college at University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Ok, now that I am out of the house, I want to start playing some online poker. It seems as if the competition may be slightly easier than the players I play with now (me and another regular from the homegames were regular winners).

There is also another problem- my dad won't like me playing poker during school, as I am a Freshman this year, and he wants me to concentrate on studying for the most part. My roommate (a very good friend of mine) is getting a credit card soon, and I figure I can just withdrawl some $$ and give it to him, and he can set up a poker account. This is mainly so my dad wouldnt know about it.

Do you see alot of problems coming up in the future concerning wins/loses?

Now, I've read Homer's post on building a bankroll, etc, etc. And to tell you the truth, I didn't really understand it. Is the best way to take advantage of bonuses just spreading maybe $500 around different sites? The only problem is it seems to be a hassel redistributing money back and forth.

What is rakeback? I understand the concept, but what is the best rakeback to get? Do you get rakeback for every different site you play on? How is it distributed?