Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-12-2005, 04:39 PM

Default AKs UTG pre flop decision

500 NLHE 150 players 9 postions paid. Ave stack around 25,000. 16 players left.Moved into table about 10 hands ago. I have only 1 hand of VPIP which was the previous hand when I went all in pre flop and was not called. Blinds 800/1600 antes 100. 8 handed. Nobody on the table had over 30,000. BB had about 15,000 sb similar.

I have about 11,000
AKs UTG.
My initial thought was to raise to 5000. After thinking about it I decided all in was better since I was pretty much pot commited anyway. Which was correct?

Where is the breaking point between going all in and raising 5000?

Also I should mention that most of the players were better then I. Lots of top notch pro's who had been bounced from the main event and I am relatively new to MTT poker.
Old 12-12-2005, 04:41 PM

Default Re: AKs UTG pre flop decision

i'd say about 22k is the cross-over between raise and push. i'd raise to 4.5k with 22k.
Old 12-12-2005, 04:56 PM

With your M at less than 4, I would push, just hate pushing 2 hands in a row, so I can see an argument for putting in say half your stack (the same as a push, since it obviously means your getting them allin). This also looks a little more deceptive after a push, opponents start thinking uh oh, this time he actually has something that he wants action with.
Old 12-12-2005, 05:07 PM

[ QUOTE ]
With your M at less than 4, I would push, just hate pushing 2 hands in a row, so I can see an argument for putting in say half your stack (the same as a push, since it obviously means your getting them allin). This also looks a little more deceptive after a push, opponents start thinking uh oh, this time he actually has something that he wants action with.

[/ QUOTE ]

for most hands that are close enough to be swung either way, you want action.