Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-30-2005, 08:24 PM

Default Why I love Poker:

because of guys like my friend. This is an excerpt from an IM conversation we had:

Him: I just started playing poker online
Me: Good for you, what are you up? [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Him: I'm down $200
Me: thats sucks, what are you playing?
Him: 5/10 on party
Me: hahaha, thats why.
Him: Yeah, it sucked. This one hand I had 7/4 and the flop comes 74Q. I ended up losing like $70 because the guy ended up having like threes Q's
Me: What the hell were you doing playing with 74(off or suited)?
Him: Whats wrong with 74? and it was suited
Me: Its a bad hand
Him: Why is it a bad hand?
Me: are you serious? alex, read some books or websites or something, and don't play so high, sit down at like the 0.5/1 tables.
Him: Nah, I'm too lazy. I'm gonna put another $200 in the acount tonight and try to get it back, I'll let you know how it goes.

...I play home games with this guy during the school year, and none of this surprised me. Worst of all, this guy isn't a donk either, he's pre-med. Anyways, its guys like this that make poker so enjoyable for me.

Cheers [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 07-30-2005, 08:25 PM

Default Re: Why I love Poker:

7-4 seems a bit extreme. People have a hard time believing Q9 isn't a great hand, but 7-4?
Old 07-30-2005, 08:27 PM

i wish i was joking. later on, his reply was, they could make a straight or a flush
Old 07-30-2005, 08:31 PM

I take offense to this post. "Four 7 Offsuit" is one of my AIM handles [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Old 07-30-2005, 08:46 PM

Hey, any two cards can win. I mean, how would you feel if you folded that 74 and the flop came 774? [img]/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
Old 07-30-2005, 08:54 PM

i don't know why you would take offense.

he was playing 74-SUITED....not 7-4 off.