Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-03-2005, 09:55 AM

Default 10+1 hand, some advice please..

I'm new to SNG's, so any help is appreciated.

3-handed. SB has ~1800 in chips, I have the same, UTG has ~4400. UTG has played a wide variety of hands, pretty loose, fairly aggressive. Blinds are 200-400.

UTG raises pre-flop to 800, SB folds. I'm looking at A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]6[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]. I debate folding, calling, and pushing. Since I'm first to act on the flop, I decide to call the 400 pre-flop raise with the intention of pushing immediately on about 98% of flops.

Flop comes A9x, one spade, I push my last 800 into the 1800 pot.

So my question is: pre-flop, should I have pushed or folded instead of just calling? UTG was pretty loose, so his raise could mean any two face cards, any pocket pair, any two cards > 8 that are suited, probably even A2-5s, etc.

I also realized afterwards that calling pre-flop with the intention of pushing probably works a lot better when you're at least betting the size of the pot.. here I'm giving him ~3:1 to call me, so he can call with a lot of hands.. What do people think?
Old 02-03-2005, 11:31 AM

Default Re: 10+1 hand, some advice please..

You should be pushing this rather than calling.
Old 02-03-2005, 11:51 AM

[ QUOTE ]
You should be pushing this rather than calling.

[/ QUOTE ]

Can you expand a little on this? Is pushing much better than a call+auto-push-on-flop?
Old 02-03-2005, 12:03 PM