Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-11-2005, 04:17 PM

Default Couple of HEPFAP questions

I started playing 6-max when Party added the 3/6 6-max tables a couple of weeks ago, and while I have run very well so far, there are probably some rather obvious leaks in my game. Without much literature on the subject, I reread the HEPFAP section on short-handed play, and had a couple of questions for the more experienced short-handed players here (mostly concerning blind steal/defense).

First, it mentions that you should lead into the PFR very often, often with the hope that he folds. I tend not to do this. I check-raise most of my legit hands (most pairs and good draws), sometimes check/call them, and then check/call with my unimproved hands that aren't totally hopeless (and the odd check-raise bluff on favorable boards against opponents who can fold). Is this something I should be doing more of (the betting into the PFR?)?

I mention this because I have trouble playing when I am bet into by a blind. When my hand hits, I usually just raise, sometimes call and pop the turn when there are few overcards to trouble me and the opponent is right. When I don't have a pair or strong draw, however, it gets more difficult. I rarely fold unless the board is very ugly for my hand, I usually just call and reevaluate on the turn, and ocassionally raise a more aggressive player with OC's, but not too often.

Finally, it also mentions just calling on the button against very loose blinds with hands such as A6o or 22. Does anyone do this, or do you just raise anyway (or fold)?

I realize that many of these situations (particularly getting bet into as a pfr) are often hand specific and I should post some hands, which I will, but I wanted to see if anyone had any more general advice first.
Old 07-11-2005, 05:09 PM

Default Re: Couple of HEPFAP questions