Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > Sporting Events
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-22-2005, 11:21 AM

Default women\'s basketball

I've been coaching HS girls' basketball for ten years. I agree with some of the sentiments posted here about women in sports, but not all of them. Some disclaimers:

[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] I do watch D1 college women's bball on TV, and I've been to a few games in person. I'll usually watch a men's game over a women's game, but I'll watch the end of any close game because I like to see the late-game strategies.

[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] I've been to many D2 college women's games, but I wouldn't go to any if it weren't for coaching and getting to know people who play on and coach these teams.

[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] I have never watched an entire WNBA game, except for one I saw in person. I tried to watch Game 4 of the finals the other night and only lasted five minutes.

There is a lot to love about women's bball at the college and HS level. There is certainly far more of a team concept in the women's game--you won't see many clearouts. You'll see many screens on and off the ball, two-man game, three-man game, and other bits of bball that have begun to go by the wayside in the men's game.

I love the men's game too, but it's a different game. I can enjoy both, the same way I can enjoy basketball and football and baseball and golf.

I've worked bball camp at Penn State during several summers. Penn State's women's team is almost always in the top 20, and was in a Final Four in 2000. As do most D1 women's programs, they have a group of guys that attend every practice and play against them as a scout team. These are guys who played in HS but weren't D1 men's players. In the times I've seen them play, the men do alright but the women are clearly the better team.