Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Other Gambling Games
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-27-2005, 07:39 AM

Default Backgammon w rating

I play poker for a living. But lately I tried some Backgammon, just for fun. But I cant play any skillgame without trying to do my best, so of course I bought 3 books by Robertie.

I played backgammon before, but never seriously.

I tried to play at Gamesgrid, but problem is that I get no rating, and the others got no rating. Most players are really bad and totally uniteresting to play against.

If I want to play backgammon online and get a rating but dont want to play moneygame (or only for cents, if that is what it takes). Where should I go? Is Gamesgrid best place (I dont mind paying a few $/month as long as I get a rating and there are players with ratings that are interested to play for fun, not real money.

When I play Gnubackgammon, can I get this program to rate me somehow? Are u rating in misstakes then? Or points (which is the same?)?
Old 06-27-2005, 08:00 AM

Default Re: Backgammon w rating

Check out www.fibs.com and download javafibs to start playing there. This is by far the best backgammon site on the net, and its free.
You get an accurate rating there pretty quick.

Yes gnu-bg can rate you. Play a game and go to the analyses menu. Its shown under match-statistics. Ratings start at 2050 (which is perfect play) and gnu withdraws a few points for every error you make.
Old 06-27-2005, 11:11 AM

Ok, thank you, I didnt get JAVA working (something wrong when I downloaded latest JAVA), but another interface called 3dFIBS works alright at FIBS (but it looks like I cant see a list of the dicerools when I play, maybe I havent unerstood how to do it...).

Can u estimate how high rating u would need to play for money online (because this would force me to think more)?

Is the rating I get from Gnu totally differnt from the one at FIBS?