Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-17-2004, 11:48 PM

Default best site for sng\'s

I am just beginning to play poker on line. I am wondering if anyone has any thoughts on the best place to play sngs on line?
Old 08-18-2004, 12:03 AM

Default Re: best site for sng\'s

Personally, I would avoid SnGs if you are just starting to play poker...if you've got B&M limit experience, then I'd play at PokerStars. The games aren't quite as soft as Party, but the blind structures are more favorable for the skilled player, in my opinion.

Play well,

CCC
Old 08-18-2004, 12:03 AM

I don't have a complete answer by any means, but...I think if you want practice playing a short stack, play at Party; if you want a bit more postflop practice, Stars may be a better bet because the larger starting chip counts allow you to play a few more speculative hands when the blinds are low.
Old 08-18-2004, 01:21 AM

Play at a site that offers $5+.50 not $5+1

Lori
Old 08-18-2004, 02:46 AM

Ultimate Bet
Old 08-18-2004, 04:46 AM

I can only speak for party and Pstars.

The question is .. What site will fit my goals/games style?

Pokerstars SnGs are slower with a larger chip pool. This favors the more skillfull players. The games are a little tougher here though. ALso the SnGs take a little longer here compared to party.

Party SnGs are faster blinds and lower chip pool. It makes luck a bigger factor, but the players at party are generally worse then at stars. The SnGs only last about 45 minutes at party.

In Summary.

Party is great if you want a faster game, and eventualy the best place (IMO) to make more $$/hour.

Stars is a more skill oriented game, but it takes longer to finish. You can have some great poker here, but if pure $$/hour is what your after then party is better.

Stars offers a 5+.50 party does not.