Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-22-2004, 02:35 PM

Default 8-tabling 5/10, how much can you make?

Hey everyone, just wanted to get your thoughts and opinions on something I'm thinking about pursuing. I'm a fairly experienced online poker player, I've been playing for about 2 years now and built up a large bankroll playing a range of limits all the way up to 15-30. Over the last couple months, I had a lot of trouble playing 3 boards in the 15 game and after deciding to switch to 8 boards of the 5-10, I've done extremely well. Playing more hands makes for less variance in your bankroll over time, and that really appeals to me since losses can really get to me emotionally. Anyway, I'm a futures trader right now and I love my job, but I'm not doing well for my company and I'm on the verge of getting canned. I've been thinking about giving the poker thing a full-time try, and I'm trying to figure out what I can set as a goal for myself for the year and from month to month. I have more than enough hands in my pokertracker database to be confident enough that I can at least beat the game for 1BB/hr per table, so if I'm actually doing this full-time for 40 hours a week, that would be $3200/wk (10*8*40), which is $160,000 a year. I'm wondering though...has anyone that's decided to do this full-time finding it completely impossible to play 40 hours a week? I'm really afraid of burnout, stress, and mental exhaustion. When I play 8 boards even for just 3 hours, it can get very tiring. Anyone else find themselves setting what turn out to unreachable time goals? And profit goals too...I'm wondering if the amount I estimated is too farfetched. I think if it is, it's strictly because it's too hard to play 40 hours a week. the 1 BB/hr seems fairly easy to me. Alright, let's hear your thoughts, I'm very curious to hear what the online pros out there have t