Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-25-2005, 10:03 AM

Default AKo preflop - 2 bets back to me

I think that one of my leaks is that I play AKo too strongly in the face of multiple raises.

I made an adjustment on a recent Party 2/4 hand:

I'm new at the table. 3 people from my fish list are at the table, but the raisers are unknowns.

I'm UTG with A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]K [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]
I raise
A few folds
MP reraises
CO 3-bets
Blinds fold.

And then I fold.

If there had been a coldcaller or two in the pot, I would've stayed in for value. I figured that I was way behind, though, and given that I don't know either of these guys I decided to play it safe.

Thoughts?
Old 06-25-2005, 10:32 AM

Default Re: AKo preflop - 2 bets back to me

NO reads mean that you gotta fold here, bad position and capped betting behind you means even if an A or K does hit you are going to be hard pressed to find out where you are at, which means that you also won't be able to extract proper value those times when you hit the flop and are still ahead
Old 06-25-2005, 12:21 PM

I'm not so sure that I would have folded here. After all, just how far behind can you be with AKo? AKo has just over a 48% chance to win the pot against 2 other random hands and I'll grant that you're way behind to AA (7% to win) but not quite as bad against KK (26% to win).

Although the UTG position is a stinker in this situation, the liklihood that you were up against AA or KK has to be offset by the fact that many small stakes games are pretty darn loose and you could have simply been facing two such players.

On the other hand, a bet (or two) saved is a bet (or two) earned and he who fights and runs away can win those chips another day.

This post has been brought to you by:

<font color="blue"> The International Waffling Opinion Society </font>