Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-09-2005, 09:21 AM

Default What books I have and what might I be missing?

I have the following books:
<ul type="square">Brunson - Super System 1 &amp; 2
Cloutier - Championship No-Limit &amp; Pot-Limit Hold 'Em
Hellmuth - Play Poker Like The Pros
Jones - Winning Low Limit Hold 'Em
Malmuth, Miller, Sklansky - Small Stakes Hold 'Em
Sklansky - The Theory of Poker[/list]I admit that I haven't read any of these books thoroughly but now I have some extra time that I would like to dedicate to poker and I was wondering if anyone has some suggestions as to which order I should read these books in? Or maybe there are some books missing that I should read before these? Any suggestions?

As background info I have been playing NL HE for about 6-7 months now mostly in home games and some online.
Old 03-09-2005, 10:27 AM

Default Re: What books I have and what might I be missing?

If NL is your main game, I would suggest reading the section in SS1/2. Other books I would recommend for no limit are:

Harrington on Hold'em (Dan Harrington and Bill Robertie)

Pot Limit and No Limit Poker (Bob Ciaffone and Stewart Reuben)

As for limit play, you may want to start off with the WLLH, and as soon as you feel confident with some of the concepts, you can then move on to the SSH book.

As for TOP, this is a book that will give you a solid theoretical grounding, and a foundation that you can feed off when reading other books. I would read this book as often as required to fully digest the concepts, (but don't expect to remember everything after one or two reads). It is a book that is useful to refer to on a regular basis.

PJS
Old 03-09-2005, 10:40 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Harrington on Hold'em (Dan Harrington and Bill Robertie)

[/ QUOTE ]

This I have on order, should be showing up soon.