Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits

Old 12-29-2005, 11:07 PM

Default HELP!! My Stats; What should I do to get better??

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting. I've been playing for awhile. I felt like i was making some headway in .50/1 but everytime i go to 1/2 i get crushed. What do you guys think?
Sir SmokaLot

Old 12-29-2005, 11:25 PM

Default Re: HELP!! My Stats; What should I do to get better??

you raise preflop about half as often as you should

you pass up a minimum of 20% steal blind situations, thats nuts, I steal almost 38% of the time, you steal 9%, you are passing up insane amounts of EV by not adjusting
Old 12-29-2005, 11:26 PM

Hi and welcome to the forums.

looks to me like you are playing too tight. VPIP is quite low so if u feel comfortable u should try and find a few more places to raise preflop. Also seems that your not defending your blinds enough and not stealing blinds enough

are you getting the feeling that your getting bullied at the tables?

HTH
Old 12-29-2005, 11:27 PM

I would check out the stats information in the microlimits guidlines which is on the top of the microlimit board. It gives general guidlines of what good numbers are and why.

I think, in general you are too tight and too passive and weak. You should be playing more hands, should be raising more preflop (to increase this mainly consists of raising after weak limpers, lowering your raising standards as your position improves, and stealing blinds). You don't defend your blinds nearly enough.

As you move up you can't just sit back and wait for people to pay you off big time when you hit big hands, you have start playing more aggressively, pushing your edges, and force others to make mistakes. Heres a link to a good recent post from the small stakes forum that focuses on preflop play, I think it would be a good place to start for you. Good luck!

Linky