Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Texas Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-18-2005, 03:02 AM

Default Pot Equity

Could Someone please explain pot equity to me?
Im a newb.
Old 11-18-2005, 04:12 AM

Default Re: Pot Equity

Pot equity is the chance that your hand will be the winning hand at showdown, represented as a percentage. If you have the best hand on the flop, your pot equity is very likely to be greater than your fair share of the pot based on the number of players in the hand (fair share against 2 opponents = 33% since you are one of three players in the hand). If you are drawing to the best hand, you pot equity basically represnts the chance that you will draw to the winning hand by the river.
Old 11-18-2005, 10:25 AM

Also, equity can be looked at preflop as well. If you have a hand like JQs in the BB and 3 loose players limp and the SB completes you probably do not have the best hand, but your equity is large enough against players who are probably playing much worse hands to toss in a raise.
Old 11-18-2005, 10:44 AM

ieatrice-

Catt & obsidian gave great definitions. I recommend reading "Getting Started in Holdem by Ed Miller (GSHE) and then "Small Stakes Holdem" by Ed Miller et al. (SSHE).

As a fellow beginner, I think these are the great books that explain pot equity and all the other basic concepts you need to improve your play. Reading thesebooks and being an active particpant in 2+2 will pay-off hugely!
Old 11-18-2005, 06:16 PM

From your perspective, your pot equity is the likelihood of you winning the hand by the showdown. You should constantly be evaluating what you feel your equity is at each stage in the hand... Preflop, Flop, Turn and compare it to the pot equity you feel you feel your opponents have and to how much money is in the pot. I recommend downloading a free software called Pokerstove that let's you analyze equity. Pokerstove