Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-08-2005, 07:58 PM

Default Aces on Button, boring flop

10/20 Party 6-Handed

Hero dealt black aces on Button

One limper, Hero raises, SB calls, BB calls, limper calls.

Flop Ad Ah 3h

What's your plan from here?
Old 11-08-2005, 08:04 PM

Default Re: Aces on Button, boring flop

Flopped quads? Slow play.

I'm no expert but I'd check/call flop, check/raise turn, bet river if it gets that far. Pretty standard play I think.
Old 11-08-2005, 08:05 PM

I'm on the Button, which makes it difficult to check-raise.

Bet the flop, check the turn if called.

first off, if you dont bet the flop, you might as well anounce to the table that you have at least one A...

so a flop bet is a given. as for the rest of the hand it is dependant on the flpp actaion, as well as the players involved. cant really say much more than that with the info you have provided, apart from expanding a tree of possible outcome which i dont feel much like doing.
Old 11-08-2005, 08:09 PM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

I'm guessing you also didn't see that Hero has the button?
Just bet flop, bet turn, bet river. Keep betting. It's 4-handed, someone will chase or have something. If not, then fine, you just get a small pot.
Old 11-08-2005, 08:13 PM

[ QUOTE ]
first off, if you dont bet the flop, you might as well anounce to the table that you have at least one A...

[/ QUOTE ]

I am aggressive short-handed, but I do not always fire continuation bets. If I were to have a hand like KJ or KQ here, I would check the flop and fold to any bets on following streets. Therefore, I don't think checking the flop necessarily means I have an ace.
Old 11-08-2005, 08:15 PM

you raised PF. the board contains at least 1 ace. your flop bet is not a continuation bet.
Old 11-08-2005, 08:19 PM