Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-14-2005, 04:36 PM

Default Pre-flop overbet with AA

Hi everyone,

I know we had one of these a little while ago, but the context here is different, and I need some input, so here goes. Also, this is obviously somewhat read-dependent, but this type of play comes up occasionally, I think.

5-10 NL live game, deep stacks, I know the Villain very well, and vice versa. He's a decent winner, self-taught (no books/2+2), plays a trapping style (fairly passive)for the most part, and is himself very tough to trap post-flop. That is, he gets away from one- and 2-pair hands to a fault after the flop, leading to some good bluffing opportunities for me. We both play loosely pre-flop, but he knows that I don't like to get a lot of money in pre-flop without a very good hand. That said, he's seen a ton of huge bluffs from me over the many hours we've played together, and I from him.

In this session, he was up about 2K, with 3000 in front of him, and I was down 1500, with about 2200 in front. He was running very good, leading at most flops, and picking up most of them right there. I suspect he actually had a piece of many of them, but can't be sure. I had been playing uncharacteristically snug, though snug for me in this game is still pretty loose. About 30 minutes prior, he had raised to 150 from the BB after everyone (5 of us) limped, stealing the pot and showing 52o. At that moment, I planned this play, should the opportunity arise to make it.

6 Handed. 2 limpers to me, I ($2200) limp in LP with AA. Button limps, SB completes, Villain ($3000) raises to $85 from the BB. 1 Fold, next dude deliberates/bitches, and folds, I move all-in for $2115 more. All fold to Villain, who goes into the tank. What do you think?
Old 05-14-2005, 04:48 PM

Default Re: Pre-flop overbet with AA