Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Computer Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2005, 01:46 PM
joop joop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 65
Default one memory stick or two?

I am buying a new PC with 1Gb RAM, just wondering if I should make it a 1Gb chip or 2 x 512Mb? Is there a difference in performance? This will be the cheapest RAM I can find, if it makes a difference.

Any advice much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2005, 12:06 AM
Gregg777 Gregg777 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: one memory stick or two?

You definitely want to go with the single stick so you can add more in the future if needed.

I am currently removing two 256mb sticks in my laptop because I need to bump it to a gig. It would be nice if I had a single 512 and only had to buy another one [img]/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]

Instead I have to trash the two I have and buy two sticks...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:17 AM
RPMick RPMick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 45
Default Re: one memory stick or two?

Your motherboard is setup for dual channels. It will perform best with 2 identical sticks of memory. You can use 1 gig stick, but 2 512's may be cheaper depending on where you buy it.

If your machine can handle 2G's of RAM go with one, but be sure to get another down the road. If your machine's max is 1G then 2 512's is the way to go.

-Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2005, 04:28 AM
joop joop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 65
Default Re: one memory stick or two?

Hmmm, the motherboard supports Dual Channel DDR400 memory, it also has 4 slots, so I should go for the 2 x 512mb?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:09 AM
krimson krimson is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: wwdsd
Posts: 559
Default Re: one memory stick or two?

[ QUOTE ]
Hmmm, the motherboard supports Dual Channel DDR400 memory, it also has 4 slots, so I should go for the 2 x 512mb?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes, go with 2x512. This will essentially allow your ram to operate twice as fast since you are writing twice as much data in one operation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.