Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments

Old 12-29-2005, 08:43 AM

Default Don\'t read if you hate dumb posts. How do I win MTT?

Ok, I play shorthanded low limit holdem. However, I'm contemplating putting in any extra time into my NL game. I'd like to win a big MTT tournament [img]/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img]. Let's say one at least on the Stars/Party weekly MTT level.

I have no NL experience. How realistic is it that I'll win one in the next 2 years? I obviously wouldn't start playing the weekly next week, so what steps do I need to take? Such as play cash games or SnGs? Devoting 20 hours a week would be optimistic.

If this is just dumb, please say so, and I'll spend my any extra time playing limit HU or full ring.
Old 12-29-2005, 09:07 AM

Default Re: Don\'t read if you hate dumb posts. How do I win MTT?

Read HoH vol. 1&2 and play alot. That's All you need.
Old 12-29-2005, 09:10 AM

Thx, but play what? SnGs, MTTs, or cash games?
Old 12-29-2005, 09:28 AM

I think all of those are good practise, but if you want to develope your skills in MTT's, play them. Read this forum, post hands, review your play. It's not easy to win big MTT. Don't play over your bankroll, don't get frusrated if you don't hit the big one soon. Read all the sticky posts here, you'll find some great information.
Old 12-29-2005, 10:33 AM

[ QUOTE ]
I'd like to win a big MTT tournament [img]/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img]. Let's say one at least on the Stars/Party weekly MTT level.

[/ QUOTE ]
Are you talking about the $500k/$350k guaranteed Sunday tourneys?