Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-21-2003, 07:30 AM

Default PLO8: Much low, little high

5-5 PLO8. Killed on the button, making it 10 to go. Bad player limps in LP, SB calls, I raise to 40 straight with

A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 2 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 3 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] J [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]

and the button, loose player and SB all call. We see

Q [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 6 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 5 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img].

I'm new to both flavors of Omaha, and have run my scared 200 buy-in up over 1100. I bet 160. The bad player folds, the button raises to 600 straight, and the SB folds. The button is somewhat loose, skilled, and very aggressive. He knows I routinely play a deep stack at NLHE but am inexperienced with the same at Omaha. He has me covered.

I have just under 1k left. Your move? Comments on everything else appreciated.
Old 08-21-2003, 11:26 AM

Default Re: PLO8: Much low, little high

In limit O8, this is a very good flop. In PLO8, this is a mediocre flop, because you have no significant chance of making a high hand.

You could easily be looking at A2 in his hand, plus anything else for high, and you're in trouble. Of course, he might have A23T, and you're a huge favorite to win 3/4, it's hard to judge.

However, you can't expect to win high here very often, and you'll miss or tie the low quite often, so you've got to fold.

Position is more important in this game than in any other game I've got any significant experience playing. It wouldn't surprise me to learn that position is more important in NL lowball, but I can't think of any other game where it might be more important.

Later, Greg Raymer (FossilMan)
Old 08-21-2003, 11:32 AM