Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-16-2005, 06:06 PM

Default Live vs. online slowplay issue

This is my first post so feel free to give me pointers so that I cause more roar than snore. I started playing 2/4 live at Commerce and ocassionally LV this year. I do not play online for $. I have read posts and the "book" position on slowplay. Essentially without clears reads, bet to grow your pot even if you lose a player or two.

The purpose of this post is to explore the limits of reading players for the purpose of a good slowplay. Any insight into live versus online slowplay timing would be appreciated also.

The two hands of slowplay have the same cast of characters, but their positions vary:

Hand one: Hero is SB with 9 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 4 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]. Villain is UTG is a LAG. I've played him before. If he senses weakeness, he'll bet out on very little from early positions to grab control and see if he can force others out. He can also go postal. (Not too uncommon at Commerce.) EP1 & 2 are Grandma's who NEVER raise ANYTHING until the river. I do not have much on the other players. 9 seats.

Preflop: UTG bets, EP1 calls, EP2 calls, 3 folds, Button calls, SB completes and BB checks. 6 players (4.5 SB)

Flop: 9 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 9 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] K [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

Choice point, do I bet out, checkraise, or slowplay? I choose to slowplay because I felt I could count on Villian to bet and I wanted to get a feel for whether the other 9 was out there. If it was, I would be the kickee with my 4 kicker.