Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-24-2002, 03:48 AM

Default 7CS: Why are straight draws bad?

Hello,

I am totally new to 7CS. When I say "new," I'm talking "never played it for money." I do play holdem decently, and I have a reasonable understanding of poker theory as well as a very strong mathematics background.

Anyway, my question is: Why are straight draws so bad?

I've read things suggesting that many good players hate them and often won't play for a straight at all. I'm just curious as to the logic. Why are they so dangerous?

Thanks for the help.

Old 10-24-2002, 04:12 AM

Default Re: 7CS: Why are straight draws bad?

The problem with medium and small straight draws such as 8c7h6s or 5d4c3h is that they only have one practical way to win a hand- by making the straight. It is unlikely that either of those two hands will win by making another hand such as two-pair.

Compare that to flush draws such as Kh7h4h or Qc8c2c. Those hands can win by making their flushes. But, they can also win by making a two-pair hand such as Kings-up or Queens-up. Flush draws with big cards in them have the added pair making value to them which medium and small straight draws don't have.

Old 10-24-2002, 04:17 AM

Thanks for the reply. I thought of that problem with the small and medium straights, and was very proud of myself after doing so [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

But, for example, West says in his book that "[he] know[s] professionals who won't play ANY straights."

I guess if he counts things like KdQhJc as "overcards," it makes sense. Otherwise, it seems like you still have the possibility of pairing high cards (as with the flush draw).
Old 10-24-2002, 08:07 AM