Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-22-2005, 07:06 PM

Default A challege for wussies like me

Repeat after me. "My name is _______ and I am risk adverse."

When it comes to my poker bankroll, I will admit that I am a major wuss. I have been playing steadily for the last two years. I happily book a small win each month, but I have barely moved up in levels in all that time. I find I like the slow and steady approach, rather than the run and gun gamble up.

There was a post this week about a guy who tries to turn $100 into $10k. This got me thinking about my own style of play and made me realize it is time for something new.

I am going to begin with $100 and 4-table SNG's one set at a time until I reach $1000. I am starting at the 10's and will only play a higher limit when I have more than 10 buy-ins for that level (dropping down levels if necessary). Once I reach $1000 I will take a look back at my stats and decide from there where to go next.

In doing this, I am hoping to accomplish the following:

Play at the higher limits. So far, I have rarely ventured above the 30's. In my challenge, I hope to try each level, including the 100's. Only by playing against better players will I get good feeling about my game and where I can play the best (aka most profitable).

Try something new. This is my first challenge, and I am looking foward to something that is not the usual grinding style I've been doing so far.

Don't be a bankroll pussy. In playing this challenge, I will NOT think about how much I've won for the week/month, etc. I am sticking to my goal until I've lost the $100 or won the $1000. If this means I don't book my monthly win, so be it. I'm hoping this will allow me to focus on the game, rather than my monetary wins and loses.