Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-07-2005, 07:35 AM

Default And now for something completely different

I've been playing the micros for a few months, working first with WLLH and then, since it came out, GSIH.

I play on Pokerroom (I'm a Mac user) and the tables at the micros are loose and generally passive. Most of the time 6-7 people take the flop and usually 3-4 stick around to the showdown. Typical no-fold'em hold 'em.

Last night, however, I had to double-check to make sure I hadn't accidentally put myself at a much higher limit table. It was like I was sitting with 9 people who spend all their time on the twoplustwo forums. At most only 3-4 people were seeing the flop (often only 2), and there was a not insignificant amount of the table folding to a PFR. When players did go to showdown, they almost always had respectable hands (or had checked from the BB and the flop had hit them). None of the usual garbage I was used to seeing people show down.

I tried to stick to my game (I've been working off Ed's starting hand charts in GSIH and trying to basically be tight-aggressive).

My question is this: Ed says, in his book (and I've seen it repeated here) that other players don't play like I do and that I shouldn't assume they've hit the flop when they bet, etc. etc. But what do you do when the players DO play like you do?

I stayed at the table, even though I ended the session down a few bucks, because it was such an interesting change of pace from the guys who jam the pot with QTo. I'm not saying I would always want to play at a table like that -- it seems -EV -- but it certainly made me think about my game.

Thoughts?
Old 06-07-2005, 07:48 AM

Default Re: And now for something completely different