Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-19-2004, 05:40 PM

Default From NL to fixed limit ?

Im winning no limit holdem player at $5/$10 level. And i started playing with NL and have never really tried fixed limit play, anyways now im going to try some shorthanded fixed limit game, because of the speed of game and that it seems to be more fun. But im really confused about what is correct style, couple of big time winners who ive been wacthing seems to be amazingly aggressive raising and reraising everything possible especially preflop. So i tried that style in small games at pokerstars ($3/$6) but results werent too good. I know books tell to play "tight & aggressive" but ive been watching lot of those guys with ultra aggressive style, so it "must" be good. And basicly im asking for some tips how to play that ultra aggressive style correctly and with best hourlyrate. All other tips to good FL play are also welcome, of course.
Old 06-19-2004, 06:01 PM

Default Re: From NL to fixed limit ?

A really good book to read if you're making the transition from NL to limit is Inside the Poker Mind by John Feeney. It's touted as a pyschological book, but it's more a book on limit tactics and they are presented in a way that makes the differences between NL and limit easily discernable to the NL player. I've recommended it to 4 or 5 big bet players and they all had an Aha! moment.
Old 06-19-2004, 09:22 PM

Just like in NL, how your opponents play is extremely important. The most successful players are those who adapt their game to who they're playing so as to profit from their present situation. Always having a certain style isn't the way to go.

That is, "ultra aggressive" may be appropriate in a given situation but not in another.