Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-29-2005, 11:04 AM

Default Blind defense.

A lot about blind defense is based on history with a specific player and reads. Unfortunately, I'm fairly new to this table and this is the first chance this player has had to steal my blind. The player in the BB seems tightish, nothing has stood out about him in the two orbits I've seen.

Preflop: BigEndian is SB with 9[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">7 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Button raises</font>, BigEndian calls, BB calls.

Flop: (6 SB) A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], T[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 8[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
BigEndian...

Would you consider leading out on the betting? Would you CR the scary Ace here? Do you fold this flop? Do you fold PF?

- Jim
Old 09-29-2005, 11:19 AM

Default Re: Blind defense.

I would fold or raise pre-flop. Prob fold w/o reads here.

I think I might just bet the flop. Its hard to say but when a SB flat calls a button open steal, and I'm the button, I give him mucho credit. Again, dunno about thios button though.
Old 09-29-2005, 11:19 AM

3-bet or fold preflop. There are only very specific situations where I would call from the SB, and absent one of those reasons I never call. It is imperative to keep the BB out. Jason Pohl wrote a series of articles on short-handed play and he gave a convincing mathematical argument that 3-betting to keep the BB out is always worth it with a hand you are going to play from the SB.