Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-06-2005, 08:55 PM

Default Chess Game Analysis (really really long & 3000th post)

WackityWhiz reminded me that my next post was number 3000, and that I should make it special. I suspect he may have just been trying to get me to stop posting for a while, but I will fix him. [img]/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]

I know there is a lot of interest in poker from chess players, and vice versa. See the recent New York Times article, by the sister of 2+2 poster curtains. Also, perhaps especially made for OOT, there is an article on sex and chess. (Unfortunately login is required and bugmenot did not work.)

So for my 3000th post I thought I'd annotate one of my chess games for OOT, in a "move by move" fashion, in a style which I hope can be understood even by total beginners at chess. Often when there is a chess thread I get PM's by new players asking how to improve, and studying annotated
complete games is a good way. This game I am about to present is somewhat unique in that the analysis can be done with no long forcing variations, and a lot of general positional ideas are shown.

I hope that even players who are not interested in learning to play chess can get an appreciation of the game by seeing what kinds of things are thought about in a master game. Of course both myself and my opponent would be considered fairly weak by Grandmaster standards, so I don't want to in any way give any inpression that this was some perfectly played game or brilliant win. This game is from the first round of the National Chess Congress, held in Philadelphia each year on Thanksgiving weekend. My opponent, playing White, is Marlo Micayabas, a 42 year old International Master from the Philippines.