Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-04-2005, 12:01 PM

Default I have applied Paul Phillips advice but am still sucking

Paul said in a post:

[ QUOTE ]
Repeatedly applying a 60/40 edge would make you one of the top players in tournament poker.

[/ QUOTE ]

I started playing MTTs 3 months ago after doing all the preliminary reading of HOH, this forum, etc. I've played probably 100 or so MTTs since.

It never fails. I get knocked out (often early) when I push pf (on a reraise) with AA/KK against 1 to 3 donkeys. Reviewing all the times I've busted out, approximately 90% of the time I have more than a 60/40 edge.

Should I play more post-flop?

Trying really hard to stay away from results oriented thinking but the dollars lost from buy ins are starting to add up.
Old 11-04-2005, 12:04 PM

Default Re: I have applied Paul Phillips advice but am still sucking

just keep grinding man. i used to be the same way. this week i have won 3 MTT's cashing over $20K.

GL
Old 11-04-2005, 12:08 PM

[ QUOTE ]
just keep grinding man. i used to be the same way. this week i have won 3 MTT's cashing over $20K.

GL

[/ QUOTE ]

nice. will do.
Old 11-04-2005, 12:09 PM

My first to advice to look far, far beyond just your bustout hands and analyze your game as a whole. Just because you got in with the best of it every time you go out does not mean you're playing perfect. I mean, to take an exaggerated hypothetical, what if you you were folding every hand you got until you picked up AA, at which point you had been blinded down to only having 2 BBs left? And now you re-raise all-in. Of course you'll have the best of it. Does that mean you played perfect? Not at all. You played terribly.