Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-10-2004, 05:31 PM

Default Won big, but now it\'s going bad. Boo hoo hoo.

I'm basically a beginner, but I do pretty good for myself.
I built up a big enough BR to play .50/1 with 300BB, I originally started with $50.

About a week ago I won 1st in a $5 Multi-table tourny. The pay day was great, and I left the $330 that I had before I won the tournament in my account.

Ever since I won it though, I've had a bad run at ring games. I'm down about 100BB.

This has occured over about 1,200 hands, and I can't seem to shake it. That's like loosing 12BB/100hands correct?. My last 10 sessions (all since the tournament) have been losing sessions, usually I sit down for 100-150 hands at a time. Also I only play one table at a time.

In the 6 weeks that it took me to build up my $50 BR to 300 bucks at mostly .25/.50, I did fine. Nothing special, I've always known I'm just above a break even player, but it was enough! To make a little money anyways. (I cashed out $50 here and there on the way to 300 bucks) All in all PT told me I had made $400 at Paradise.

Again, I'll stress that I'm only a marginal player, but people on-line are just so bad... having only a slight edge was enough.

However, lately it has just been going terrible. Could it be Psychological? Was I just really lucky before, and this recent play is a true representation of my skill?

Should I step back down to .25/.50? If this trend continues my 230 dollars will just continue to shrink. interestlingy enough, my VP$IP is the same as it's always been. (28-29%)
But my winning % with big hands has fallen big time. especially AK, which used to be my biggest winner.

Has anyone else experienced a bad run like this after a great hot streak, or winning a MTT?
Old 12-10-2004, 05:39 PM

Default Re: Won big, but now it\'s going bad. Boo hoo hoo.