Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Mid- and High-Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-11-2005, 01:55 AM

Default Rebuilding a Burned Bankroll

I know the topic of bankroll has been covered a zillion times on here and I know the search function well, but please forgive me for bringing this up as this is a little bit different than what the normal bankroll post, as there is a specified objective that I need to hit by December 2006 with as little risk as possible.

First, history: I was a live game professional when the WPT just started airing...I played 10/20 in some very soft games and was making about 1k/week....somewhere around 1.5BB per hour.

I quit being a pure professional when I took a job about six months after graduating college (about August 2003). It offered security that I didn't have at the time (I had a 250BB bankroll and no backup for my monthly nut). I now know that variance can be either a great demon or a great savior. Still, 2004 saw my best year as a poker player (even though I was playing semi-pro). I built my bankroll up and was making just under 1.4 BB. It was a good year with a $5K+ January and only 2 minor losing months for the whole year (90% live play).

This year started off OK with a +1800 in the first part of January. Then, I had to take some time off from work until April (I'm an accountant) and so I ended up starting back in May (I dropped $1500 playing 2/5 NL in the meantime).

I had a good May at the 15/30 on Party. I was plus $4K. Then, I went to Vegas for the WSOP in June (vacation) and the bottom fell out in 10 days. I lost 70% of $10K playing cash game NL with some incredibly bad beats....AA vs an AJ bluff on a rag flop....turn and river both rags....-2K and Js9s push by me on a Ts8s rag flop vs. 7s6s who called and caught a pair....just trying to say that I was 70% unlucky and 30% was my fault.