Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-02-2005, 09:20 AM

Default What next?

Ok, so I'm pretty much a beginner (bout 3 months play) and I've read and re-read TOP and I am now picking out individial chapters & passages to make sure I fully understand them, mainly the later chapters. I found TOP an excellent book, especially for a total newbie, as it laid down everything I needed to know, as well as things I would probably never have thought of myself.

I am now looking for which book(s) to progress to next? I have Hellmuth's book, but have not found it particularly useful yet. I almost exclusively play NL, but pretty much micro stakes at the moment, 0.10/0.20 and 0.25/0.50 are the tables I usually play. I also play plenty of tournaments and have a reasonable amount of success, cashing in many of them. My ring game seems not too bad as well, I am consistently a winning player at the table, although I realise that my game is far from what would be considered great, or even good!

I am aware of HoH, which would interest me as I do play a fair number of tourneys, but I also hear good things about SSH and of course Super System. As SS2 is now out, does this make SS1 not worth getting? Is a lot of the material repeated/updated in SS2?

What are the strong and weak points of each of these books, and any others I should consider? What are their styles, and rough content? Any help would be appreciated, I'm really looking to improve my game now. Thanks.
Old 02-02-2005, 03:49 PM

Default Re: What next?

1) SSH is a limit hold 'em book that wouldn't really help a NL player, especially one who's already read TOP.