Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Mid- and High-Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-16-2005, 05:56 PM

Default Comments on TSP\'s private game with Dcfir, schneids, alexsem etc.

I watched a heckuva game last night. Crympayz's 15-30 private 6 max table with TSP himself, Schneids, Dcfir, AlexSem, Kakmasta (sp?), the derelict etc.

I sat on the rail and watched the game for a good 90 minutes or so while I was doing some office work.

Tough game. Not one that I would ever play in except for educational purposes.

But in any event, I do have some observations and comments which hopefully we can all discuss. I preface my comments by saying that I have very little experience playing short games. So, If I am out to lunch with some of my observations, well, I am sure you guys will let me know.

Overall, it seemed to me that all of you were playing too aggressively. The one notable exception was dcfirths who I thought had a good mix of aggressive value bets, aggressive bluffs, rope-a-dope strategy, simply giving up now and then etc.

As an example of over-aggressive play, I was amazed that in the whole 90 minutes or so that I was watching, there was hardly an occasion where the small blind open-limped. If everyone folded, the small blind invariably open-raised. To me, that simply has to be suboptimal strategy. The bb has position on the sb. The bb ain't folding frequently to the sb's raise because he knows the sb has light open-raising standards (in fact, It seemed like no standards at all...it was just raise everytime). Playing weak hands for a raise when out of position does not yield optimal results.