Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-05-2005, 05:58 PM

Default 2 Book Ideas

Alright, here is another "help me decide what book to buy next" post.

Background - I started playing online poker a year ago, almost exclusively limit poker, started from .5/1 and worked my way up to 2/4. I'm looking to expand my game a bit to no limit holdem, and probably cash games since its much more flexible that tournaments since I can play and leave whenever I like.

Books I already have/read - Lee Jones on Limit, HFAP, SSHE, Super System, Mike Caro's Poker tells, Theory of Poker, HoH 1 & 2, Internet Texas Holdem (the Kilger or Hilger book).

I'm thinking of getting a good book for NL cash games (which I think not many exist when I searched the forum) and maybe a book to help me move up to the 5/10 - 10/20 level in limit.

Any suggestions?

How good are the Caffione books - The Middle Limit book and the pot and no limit books?

How about King Yao's?

Thanks guys!
Old 12-05-2005, 06:20 PM

Default Re: 2 Book Ideas

Reread the books you've already read.
Old 12-05-2005, 06:28 PM

Haven't read Chiaffone's book, but it's gotten good review. Yao's book is strictly limit and a good addition after SSHE.
Old 12-05-2005, 06:31 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Reread the books you've already read.

[/ QUOTE ]

Let me guess, 0 strategy posts out of the 35 you made?
Old 12-05-2005, 07:28 PM

There is an nolimit book by Ed Miller to be released sometime next year, that I'm looking forward to ... but as for NL limit cashgames ... well .. as far as I can tell the best book on those is HOH vol 1 and I'm somes opinion Brunsons Chapther in SS1

The no limit book by Bob C is ok, but it covers all games (HE, Omaha, Razz, Lowball .. etc.) and therefore you will not find real depth in it .. (How deep you are dertermines your play ... any student of Harrington knows that)