Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2005, 06:14 PM
jon462 jon462 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 0
Default PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash

When I 4 table PP beta it isnt too bad (crashes every 10-15 mins or so, and i can quickly reload PP, login, and push the button to repread tables in 10 secs)... but lately i have started pushing to play 6-8 tables, and with great success. The problem is with more than 4-5 tables up it crashes on me every 4-5 hands it seems. Sometimes it will crash, ill reopen, and within 5 secs it crashes again. Have we figured out what is causing the crashing yet? Anyone have any tips to prevent or at least reduce the crashing (it happens to me when i have PT running as well as when I have nothing else running).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2005, 06:28 PM
Bill Poker Bill Poker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Neptune
Posts: 54
Default Re: PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash

I have been 4 tabling PP beta for a couple weeks, and it only crashed once. so I like the new version. whats your OS? mine is 2000 pro.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2005, 06:35 PM
Jack Fate Jack Fate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash

i've had the same problem but not as frequently as you. i tried playing 8 tables and tiled to 1600X1200 resolution, and after a few minutes it froze up. i closed client and all other random apps then restarted client and it was fine. it may just be a RAM problem. so you can't have other apps running if you are doing more than 4 tables.

anyone with high performance PC had problems with beta crashing?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2005, 06:50 PM
bluef0x bluef0x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default Re: PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash

Mine used to crash every 20minutes or so (I 8-10 table)

But for the last 2 1/2 weeks or so it hasn't crashed once... I think it's since I reformatted actually.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2005, 07:03 PM
curtains curtains is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 240
Default Re: PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash


Mine crashed a bunch yesterday. Do you think itd make sense to restart my computer before attempting to use it again?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2005, 07:07 PM
bluef0x bluef0x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default Re: PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash

[ QUOTE ]

Mine crashed a bunch yesterday. Do you think itd make sense to restart my computer before attempting to use it again?

[/ QUOTE ]

Worth a shot... I don't get why reformatting my computer would stop it from crashing but I played about 60 SnG's yesterday without a crash. Maybe try reinstalling the beta- perhaps they updated the software? [img]/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2005, 07:11 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash

Umm I've never experienced a crash. I have 512MB ram AMD2400+ or something like that. No super machine or anything.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2005, 07:12 PM
curtains curtains is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 240
Default Re: PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash


How did you reformat your computer? This was the first time it crashed for me..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2005, 08:06 PM
bluef0x bluef0x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default Re: PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash

[ QUOTE ]

How did you reformat your computer? This was the first time it crashed for me..

[/ QUOTE ]

Eh, if your gonna do that back up everything. I used my girlfriend's system restore cd that came with her laptop, it worked for my desktop. Pop in the cd and when you are booting it will say "Press any key to boot from cd" you have to press a key pretty fast and then it will prompt you. Just select your HD and reformat... it does the rest.

Now the problem I face is that I have no idea what my WinXP cd-key is and it's bugging me to activate... is there anyway you can find an old cd-key? [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-30-2005, 08:14 PM
TheNoodleMan TheNoodleMan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bloomington , IN
Posts: 325
Default Re: PP beta problems.... crashcrashcrashcrash

[ QUOTE ]

How did you reformat your computer? This was the first time it crashed for me..

[/ QUOTE ]
Reformatting your CPU should be an absolute last resort option.
I think this is as good a time as any to say
<font color="red">BACK UP YOUR PT DATABASE! </font>
that goes for anyone reading this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.