Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-30-2005, 10:40 AM

Default Practical knowledge for HS students

I am a HS teacher at a urban, low-income, ethnically-diverse school (Farewell poker 'til next summer!). While I usually teach freshman English, this year I've been assigned a class called Future Focus - a class every 9th grader must take to fulfill state career-related standards.

In the past, this class has focused solely on career and job crap, but I'd like to expand the curriculum since most of our students have no idea how to be organized, disciplined, or proactive in a school or work environment. They are going to learn these skills in my class.

I would also like to include "practical knowledge". I always hear people complain about how school didn't address practical issues such as how to rent an apartment, how to check a bank statement, change your oil every 3000 miles, etc.

What do you think is a topic/skill that is usually neglected that I definitely should address in my curriculum?

(While humorous/retarded answers are always appreciated, I really would like some good, serious replies - thanks!)
Old 08-30-2005, 10:43 AM

Default Re: Practical knowledge for HS students

[ QUOTE ]
I always hear people complain about how school didn't address practical issues such as how to rent an apartment, how to check a bank statement, change your oil every 3000 miles, etc.

[/ QUOTE ]

Isn't this what parents/guardians are supposed to do? Why is it the public schools' job to do this?
Old 08-30-2005, 10:44 AM

FINANCES - checkbooks, credit cards, budgeting, rent, utilities...
Old 08-30-2005, 10:48 AM

One thing that drives me crazy is people with absolutely no sense of urgency at all. Timliness is something you can teach. Instill some kind of punishement that actually matters to them for people that can't show up on time or get things done on time.